Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recording drummers

PretentiousName

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by PretentiousName:

I'm a novice recording engineer, so I'm wondering if there are any tips/tricks you guys can give me for making the drummer feel comfortable and/or give the best possible take once in the studio. Thanks in advance.

That depends. If you're working with a session guy, shoot straight and don't speak in generalities. That guy's getting paid to be a pro. If you're working with the band's drummer ... heck if I know. Sometimes those guys just don't belong in the studio, and you have to be prepared to tell them that. Too many times those kids come in wanting to shoot off their wad of licks for a studio recording, and they can't nail them under that type of scrutiny. You just have to pry those parts apart and whittle them down to only what he can play perfectly, and tell him to save the crazy stuff for the live show.

Well... I think the biggest reason drummers love to work with me is because I listen to them. They set up and I listen to them play and really try to get the vibe of what they're going for. I ask them about the specific songs that are being recorded and what kind of sound they're going for. If they can give me specific examples of drummers that influenced them and/or records they would like to use as a jumping off point, so much the better. I just try to get an idea what the drummer is hearing in his head. Usually this alone shocks the hell out of them - they're not used to that. :D

If possible, I also try to talk to the drummer before the session and find out if he's got new heads on the kit, ask him to check his hardware and make sure it doesn't rattle, that kind of thing (if he doesn't have much studio experience).