Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

So Many Choices

HMSDrumKing

I know you guys are probably sick of my stupid questions, but don't bash on me too hard http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/wink.gif I did decide to go with the Pacific set, which I am more than satisfied with! It is much more than I expected for the money, and now I have a new dilema - cymbals. I am basically seeking high-quality cymbals at a low cost. My budget is no more than $500, which I know is not much to work with. Right now I have a 14" and 16" Sabian B8 crash, and 15" Zildjian hats and 20" Zildjian ride, I don't know the model of either, but I'm guessing A's. My Sabians are fine for now, but my Zildjian's need to go, especially the ride. Along with a new ride and possibly a new set of hi-hats, I would like to have a splash (10" or 12") and a china (preferably a 16", I just like the sound of them better in most different series). I am pretty sure that any Zildjian's are out of the way because of price, except maybe the ZBT's, but I would really not like any B8's, 302's or ZBT's, something better than that. So that really puts me in a bad spot, because all the other high quality cymbals come with high price tags. The model of the cymbal is pretty much not a problem, I like almost everything I've heard from all the different kinds I could get my hands on to try out, except for some of the lower-end cymbals like I mentioned before. If there is anything I may be overlooking, please tell me, I'd appreciate any info. Thanks!

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Your $500 should be able to buy you a top of the line pair of hi hats and a ride cymbal, with change left over. I bought a pair of 13" Dark K hats and a 20" Dark K ride online, and paid less than that.

If you're going with Zildjian, I think the K line has the most versatility. The A's are way too thin for my taste. I like the more traditional darker cymbals.