Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

To take the gig, or not to take the gig

rlhubley

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There was a thread awhile back that I would recommend you read. There were some great comments; the topic was specifically about auditions.

Here's the URL:

http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/000267.html

Before I audition or even talk about joining the group or band, I investigate to see whether or not my involvement with them is going to further my career. If not, then it's a waste of time for everyone involved. I won't be happy and they'll be looking for another drummer in a few weeks or months. Unfortunately, I've learned this the hard way.

Since I'm a professional musician, it's important that certain things be in place BEFORE I approach them about a gig.

Here are a few ideas that I personally use when making a decision whether or not to play with a band/group/artist (in no particular order).

• No Pay, No Play
  • Musically speaking: are we headed in the same direction?
  • Do I like their music?
  • Do I like the members in the band? If so, would we get along?
  • Is this a permanent or short term position?
  • How much rehearsal will be involved?
  • What kind of gigs do they have lined up?
  • How many dates are usually booked per month?
  • Does this group travel? If so, do they give a "per diem"? Do the take care of travel expenses? How often do they plan to be on the road?
  • Musicianship: are we on the same level?
  • What are their expectations of me?
  • Do I have to sing?
  • Will I have any other responsibilities other than playing my instrument?
  • Do they pay cartage?
  • Original or cover?

There are a lot of other things I think about; this is just a short list. If the answer to any one of these questions is not to my liking, then I have to seriously consider whether or not I should even entertain the thought of working with the group/artist.