Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Weak left hand

Hayman

Hi,

I've been playing drums for a few years but was never patience enough to work on my basics. I play in a band and I haven't been kicked out yet, so I guess I'm doing ok. http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Well, I've decided to spend more time on the things I skipped and one thing I've noticed is that my left hand is not near as "good" as my right. I'm thinking that if I can even out the differences between the two hands, my playing will be better.

So what do you all do to get a "better" left hand?

Richard

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Make sure you can start every exercise with your left. ie instead of doing a measure of sixteenths starting on your right, start on you left. Its a different feel and should start to feel natural - that is how you know your left is getting better. Make sure your accents are the same on both hands. Recording yourself playing is one of the best things you can do as it allows you to see what you do wrong and see what you need to inprove on. Im sure there are other better ideas out there so shoot away!

-dave

A good way to improve your left hand is to play the hi-hat/ride left handed jamming along to recorded music, then as you get more confident try it at rehearsals. Who knows down the road you might actually prefer that to crossing your right hand to play the hi-hat.

Try using basic drum corps warm-ups. 8's, Bucks, Roll exercises, etc. I also find that paradiddles are incredible. I sort of overlooked those earlier on. I have now found that they can really give you more options of grooves, as well as getting around the kit. There was a 2 or 3 part lesson on paradiddles in MD about a year and a half, maybe 2 years ago. Try to locate those. But here are a couple of quick ones to get you started:

1. rlrr lrll

2. lrrl rllr

3. rrlr llrl

4. rlrl lrlr