Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Session drumming

Stuthumper

hey guys i'm new here,but ian said to check it out so i thought i might as well,well while i'm here,do u any of u guys have any experience in session drumming,any tips would be welcomed.

at this moment in time i have been playing for 3 years and i have just accepted into college to study music full time,i am working currently on the rudiments kit and snare ones and polyrhymic patterns,i can play a range of styles including jazz,latin,pop,punk,metal,rock,r&b,blues,soul and a few more. if any of u guys could give me any tips on what else to practice and how to get into the industry i would be greatful.

o i can read drum music very well even better than my teacher infact. lol

thanx in advance

stu (thumper) http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Thumper!,

I knew you'd show up!You've heard all my lines so I'll let the other guys answer your post,but I'm glad you decided to join us!I know you'll benefit from it!

Guys I am honored to say that I gave Stu his name "Thumper",he's got alot on the ball so treat him well!

I was telling the guys on the other forum that I wish that I could be their age again to do it all over without all the mistakes and missed chances that I made!

Maybe we can help them with some occasional advice.And I can vouch that these guys have some valid input of their own though and may teach us a thing or two!

ian*

ian*

Hey, Thumper:

Welcome to MusicPlayer.com's Drum Talk!

Please go to the thread "Inquiring Minds Want To Know" and tell us more about you.

Session work can differ depending on where you live in the US or World. In Nashville, it is totally differnt than a studio scene, say ... in Atlanta.

Regarding drumming:

Heep your head up. Have a great attitude, Always, and never think you have learned it all !!

DJ

Thumper,