Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hartke- Paper vs. Aluminum Cones

vcs700s

I have a Hartke B300 for a practice amp at home. I have been reading some of their material, as well as other brands, as I hope to get a bigger amp in the future. My amp has "paper cones" but Hartke also has combos and cabinets with aluminum cones. From what I am reading one of the differences is sound.

My questions are: Does Hartke make good amps and cabinets? I really like my B300 but it is only a 30 watt amp with a 10" speaker. I am new to all this, but to me it sounds good. How is the sound and quality of the bigger Hartke products and what is the difference between the paper and aluminum coned speakers?

Thanks, Vic

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In my opinion, Hartke makes good amps for their price range. The main difference in the aluminum cone is, that it does not absorb moisture and should not rot with age. However, the speaker's surround material, (foam, cloth, vinyl, etc.) is usually the first material to fail. I think the aluminium cone is more of a sales gimmik that a real advantage. I don't see any high end makers using it. IMHO There are others on this forum that can give you a more professionl opinion.

Rocky

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb, voting on what to eat for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb, contesting the vote."

Benjamin Franklin

I'm not a fan of hartke, but if you like the sound then its good for you. The hartke head and amp I bought used worked perfectly for me and was good quality. I dont like the sound, it was too brittle IMO. I had aluminum cones but never did a side by side with paper cones through the same amp so I cant tell you for sure if there is a difference.