Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Could Use Some Help Here!

Ibanez Owner

Heya fellas,

My no. of posts already tell you I am new to this forum. I am not in US/UK, but somewhere else you probably may not imagine.

Here is my plight...Out here, we do not have access to good books the way you guys do, and there are no DVDs whatsoever(we've got to import them, which is quite a hassle). Also, we have very few good bassists but most of them don't like teaching.

I have been playing bass for 3+ yrs now, but am as good as a newbie since I've learnt all on my own and online lessons haven't helped me much.

Now, I would love some advice on how I can go about bettering my bass skills with the limited options I've got(e.g practise routines, techs, etc.). People say I have to learn the guitar first but somehow the 6-string does not appeal to me.

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hmmmmm.....a remote area with a "few good bassists?"

The tried and true method is the best; it's how Beethoven and Mozart learned. (Sure, they had teachers, but the teachers gave them this assignment:)

Listen to music, and attempt to copy exactly what the bassist is doing on that music.

You won't be doing that with the Headhunters right off. You'll have to start with country or folk or eighth note rock.

But you'll begin to hear it; even the difference between and open D and a 5th fret D.

It really doesn't matter what kind of music you learn from. I learned every guitar lick from the old group Bread in HS. I've never performed a single Bread song in my life, and I don't play that kind of music.

But I liked it then (and now) and learned from it. I learned enough to ace college music theory.

So get that Stevie Ray Vaughan album, or Mudvayne or whatever. Play along; even one note is progress.

Good luck

Yep. I'm the other voice in the head of davebrownbass.