Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Talk Amongst Yourselves - I'll Give You A Topic

Chad Thorne

I'm a little ferklempt.

One reason I like bass is because I can move from one genre of music to another pretty easily. If I don't know every little lick and trick I can still usually come up with something that sounds o.k., and that's truer for me with bass than guitar. It's this experience that makes it easier for me to see that all music is interconnected, that if you understand one musical scheme it's easier to understand another, that, as Tshaka has said, "The blues is the roots and everything else is the fruits."

Discuss.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Don't you hate when no one replies right away. Doesn't help the ferklempt much.

I am just beginning to play "other" types of music during my daily practice. Not that I will end up playing it in a gig, just fun to expand my horizons, even if badly.

I also like putting on a new blues CD and try to play along like I am at a jam and have to start right away without any cues.

"When I take a stroll down Jackass Lane it is usually to see someone that is already there" Mrs. Brown

At the end of the Dvorak "New World Symphony" (written in the 19th century) the basses and cellos play an arpeggio 1-3-5-6-1-6-5-3-1.

So did all the rockabilly musicians in the 50's.

The second movement of the Beethoven Piano Sonata Op. 14, No. 1 contains a series of sequential ii-V chords that is almost exactly like the opening theme of Bill Evans "Waltz for Debbie."

In Handel's "Messiah" the aria "He Shall Feed his Flock" begins with an alto soloist, and at the emotional center of the selection, Handel modulates up by a P4 and a soproano sings the solo. So do the Oak Ridge Boys in "When I sing For Him" from Sky High.