Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A study of "So what" by miles davis

LLroomtempJ

So...

I'm studying this song. I've figured out the chords, but i'm sooooooo confused.

The chords in the solo section are d7 and eb7. However, the bass player is walking d and eb minor and IT FITS!! WHY???

Is the piano player allowing him to define the 3rds and i just can't hear it? Did i just hear the chords incorrectly?

I remember reading some theory about about using the perfect 4th above the root of the 7 chord to solo over (e.g. playing g major over a d7 chord)...but that doesn't explain what the bass player is doing.

I've yet to get to the solos in the song, but i'm sure they'll be just as difficult b/c of all the modes that i don't know.

help!

jason

2cor5:21

Soli Deo Gloria

"it's the beauty of a community. it takes a village to raise a[n] [LLroomtempJ]." -robb

My YouTube Channel

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The tune is modal. I doubt there is a D7 or Eb7. The modes are D dorian and Eb dorian. Bill Evans plays voicings based largely on 4th but mostly within the modes so Dm7 then Ebm7 would be more accurate - I doubt he plays any major thirds. On the keyboard this is all white keys on the A sections and mostly black keys on the B sections.

Paul Chamber splays the bass around Dm7 and Ebm7. He uses mostly the dorian modes but makes some use of chromatics (often playing the C# on the Dm as a passing tone).

So on the A sections, solo on Dm7 (D, E, F, G, A, B, C)

and on the B sections solo on Ebm7 (Eb, F, Gb, Ab, Bb, C, Db.

Same thing with Impression by John Coltrane.

There's a lot of modal music written during those years ('47-'57), the cool jazz era. You should listen "A love supreme" (Coltrane) too.

Have fun, and take your time. It's the best way to really learn something.

Mj

I've no more a guilty conscience, only a stomach.