Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

grounding problem??

chelapa

Hai, i'm new here....str8 to d point... i have a J and D 6 string bass(JD-RM6) and its active... i'm having a problem with one of the pots which is the treble(i ting so...) where, every time i try to increase it i would hear a buzz, and it gets louder if i increase it more ... i'm not good with active electronics but could it be a grounding problem or is it a faulty pot.So....if theres anybody who can help me i'll be waiting. BTW, since i can't post a pic of my bass,here is the web of the manufacturer http://www.jandd-guitars.com/jd-rm6.htm

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Have you checked the wire under the bridge? On my old bss increasing the treble increased buzz even with proper grounding. You may just have a buzzy bass or amp. how does it sound with the humbucker soloed?

I knew a girl that was into biamping,I sure do miss

her.-ButcherNburn

Do you have single coil pups?

Does it buzz with both pups on together?

Do you have a TV in the same room?

Do you have a Computer in the same room?

Do you have a dimmer switch in the same room?

Do you have a neon strip/tube light in the same room?

If you have any of those, make sure they are all switched off, then consider the wiring if it still buzzes.

Active guitars/basses are often noisier with the treble turned full up.

G.

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=738517&content=music

The Geoff - blame Caevan!!!

thanny XIII :- the humbucker are ok only if i don't turn up the treble pot(the pot with the problem) and i don't think its the amp coz i've tried it before i bought it.

G.Thomas O'Byrne :- thanks for the "checklist".. i'll try it.....but what you guys trying to say is that all/most active bass/guitar tend to be noisy?....what makes it does that? and is there "remedy" to cure this?