Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Introduce Yourself

Rowbee

Hi all

Sorry it's taken so long to post this thread but I finally just wanted to formally introduce myself. I've been on the fringe here for a few months now, mostly just reading but occasionally posting.

My name is Rob, I play an Ernie Ball Musicman Sterling and a Warwick Streamer LX Jazzman. I use a Euphonic Audio iAmp500 through two EA CxL 112L 12" speaker cabs. The only effects I use very occasionally are an Electro Harmonix Bassballs and a Boss ODB-3 Overdrive.

I'm 33 and I've been playing bass for around 8 years, but I started out as a drummer. Even though I was never a particularly spectacular drummer, I like to think it gave me a good rhythmic understanding which I have utilised to much better effect on bass. Although I toyed with the idea, I have no real desire to learn guitar, I would much rather commit myself to the instrument that gives me the most satisfaction.

My current gigs are a Funk\Soul band in Exeter, Devon called the Soul J's and a Funk band in Coventry, West Midlands called Jakamo. I have the gig of a lifetime coming up this month with the Soul J's as we are supporting the legendary Maceo Parker.

I have no real aspirations for greatness, I play because I love to play.

You guys have a great community here, it's enjoyable to be able to participate in mature, adult discussions.

This forum is truly educational.

Thanks

Rob

Now theres three of you in a band, youre like a proper band. Youre like the policemen.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Rob!

My name is Rod and like yourself, I mostly lurk and mine the vast golden knowledge that is here at this forum.