Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Im new to all this...need help!

Dan9687

I've been wanting a guitar since I was 14 or so and I never got one, since then Ive changed my mind to wanting a bass and I plan on asking for one for Xmas, my problem is I dont know which one to get for a starter?!?! Here is the two I was looking at:

Click>>>>>>

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=bass/search?c=6313

Its the two Rogue bass's, not sure why one is only $10 more..anyone? If you guys can help me out and just tell me if this would be good enough just to start on and play a few stuff on I would appreciate it! Also If you guys have any other ideas on good starter bass's for $150 or LESS, please share.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In all seriousness, the basses they sell at Target are around that price range, and are branded under the Wasburn name. You might want to go for one of those. Or even the Rondo basses linked above.

I know how it is with parents. They want to see if you're going to play it. $150 is a lot of money for something you may put down after a few weeks.

The Rogues that were linked aren't all that great. If you do get 'into' playin quiet a bit, playing the better of the low end instruments will frustrate you. In other words, don't buy the Rogue. .

I got my brand new bass at a pawn shop...pretty much new in box. So if you want to shop around, I'd start there.

By the way, I agree that buying blind from MF might not be the best route to take and there are better basses out there in that price range. I have played a couple of used Rondo basses and while they might not be your cup of tea, they are excellent for the dough. I've only played two though.

In my opinion Musicians Friend is better suited for folks who might have a better idea what they are buying. You might need someone who will sort through a pile of basses and pick out a good one. :D

DONUT,