Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hello!

Stuart Clayton

Hi everyone!

My name is Stuart Clayton, I am a UK bass player, and writer of several published tuition books, as well as being a writer for the UK's Bass Guitar Magazine. I have decided to try an establish more of an online presence... I do have a new book to plug after all! ;-)

I have just finished writing 'Ultimate Slap Bass', a complete Beginner to Advanced tutorial method book. The book contains over 200 exercises, covering topics such as basic slap techniques, hammer-ons and pull-offs, strumming, double popping, double thumbing, and combining techniques. The book will come with two audio CD's. There are also biographies and discographies for the most influential slap bassists, and interviews with Marcus Miller, Stuart Hamm, Mark King, Vail Johnson, and Ray Riendeau. You can check out the book and many of the others I have written on my website www.stuartclayton.com. I'd be very interested to here what you all think...

Feel free to drop me a line and say hi either on this forum or via email - stuartclayton@hotmail.com.

Cheers

Stuart Clayton

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You sound sincere, so I hope you stick around for more reasons than just to promote your book. There are a lot of people on this forum who would jump to buy a book or CD that forum regular puts out to "help him/her out," but there are even more people who look with a skeptical eye on first posts plugging merchandise.

Stick around and make friends, Stuart. We can always use another pro in the forum. Best luck on moving your book, too.

Hey Stuart - I thought I recognised your name! Does that make you a celebrity? ;)

One question regarding your new book - how have you covered the application of all those pyrotechnic techniques to really laying down a groove? The perennial problem for too many (wannabe) slap bassists...

Alex

Hi Stuart, I hope you do stick around.