Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fingerstyle players: which finger do you lead with?

In another fairly recent thread, I saw someone mention that they lead with their middle finger when playing finger style. Last night during rehearsal, I paid attention to my right hand and I lead with my middle finger too. I also noticed that I often times will play part of a line with *just* my middle finger. Odd, because it's something that I never even think about - that hand just makes the notes go when I want it to.

So my question is this: Is that weird? Are you supposed to lead with your index finger? By "supposed to", I'm assuming that some method book out there says that you should always lead with your index finger.

I was self taught for a long time before I started taking lessons. I had a few bad habits that I've since corrected, but I never recall my bass teacher telling me which fingers to use for what on my plucking hand. Though, we did have many discussions on my horrible fretting hand technique. :D

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I usually lead with the index, but I will pretty much never play more than two or three consecutive notes with any one finger.

I have a student who, if I'm not watching him closely, will get lazy and just play everything with his middle finger, though.

i read from an old BP mag (a Steve Bailey column, i think) that it would be ideal to lead with the middle finger, 'coz it is usually longer.

that being said, it depends on what groove i'm playing and what strings i pluck. i'm left-handed playing the right-handed way, and usually pay attention to my left hand more, as it also has the more mental aspect of playing.

Insert clever, non-religious, unobtrusive sig here

Had to play a few to figure it out...

It all depends on which string I'm going to next. A 'distance'/finger length kinda thing...

If I'm going to a lower pitched string, I'll start with my middle finger.