Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Tapered Low B

The Geoff

So I'm pretty new to all this Bass stuff - don't get me wrong, I really enjoy playing it - but I've a lot to learn, although I've been playing G****r for 40 years. They look the same, but there's big differences I'm finding out as I go along.

I got a set of new Lakland Formula-G Custom roundwounds off eBay UK for a very decent price. They are unused and perfect, BUT the low B is tapered at BOTH ends.

This is the first time I've come across this. It rather took me aback, as the heavy part of the string terminates just beyond the bridge pickup (which, I suppose, is OK).

Any pro's/con's on this? Any comments at all?

(I did do a search, but didn't seem to find anything)

Geoff

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=738517&content=music

The Geoff - blame Caevan!!!

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Pros: More high-end, easier to intonate, extra clarity in general.

Cons: Less thump and resonance. You'll need to raise that bridge saddle.

Which works best depends on the sound you want and the bass you're playing. For instance, my Warwick prefers non-tapered strings, whilst my Hohner is better with tapered ones (the E and A strings in this 4-string example).

Alex

Actually, Alex, it's a Hohner Pro JJ Bass I'm considering downstringing to BEAD. I play bass in a blues band and rarely make it up to the G string, but use the B quite often when playing my 5. That's why I'm considering the adaption.

G.

"When the power of love overcomes the love of power the World will know Peace": Jimi Hendrix

G'day Geoff,

I bought a set of (cheap) strings that had a tapered B at the nut. Very annoying. I had to fill the slot with a mixture of super glue and shavings of plastic. It did effect the clarity of the string so I was glad to change back.