Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A Beginners Obvious Question

JulesM

Hey everyone!

I'm new to bass and this forum and I suspect I'm asking a question that will make you all sigh in dismay... but hopefully one of you can help me.

I've been looking in books and online and I need a simple answer. Is there a rule for converting guitar chords into bass lines?

For example - a song is put in front of me with the chords Em, C, A. Do I just play those notes on my bass or do I do something else?

I'm so used to reading bass tab - that when someone just gives me chords I don't know what I'm supposed to do with them...

Thanks!

Jules

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome. There are many traditions.

The simplest idea is to play just the root of that chord. You can play whatever rhythm the song requires...including repeated eighth notes.

Another idea, really a classic one (Beethoven and Bach used it) is to outline the chord by playing it's root and fifth. That would be C-G for a C chord. Often this is done 2 notes to a bar, but others have different ideas.

You can expand that by adding the third or the seventh. This gets kinda complicated because the thirds and sevenths often have different "qualities." (So can the fifth, but it's less common in most of the stuff you will play.) There are 2 thirds and 2 sevenths commonly used "Major" and "Minor" (there is also a "diminished" seventh, again, used less frequently)

Another idea is to add the sixth or ninth note above the root. Also, many folks put a 1/2 step above or below the next root in a series on the fourth beat--a leading tone.

There are "riff" based songs, where a particular pattern "defines" the song, rather than the chords." "Day Tripper" is an example of this (the opening phrase.)