Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

a good day: the first amp is done.

i finished the very first amp in my new position today. it is the crest CC 1800 :

http://www.crestaudio.com/images/fullsize/CFA-CC1800-AB.jpg

my best guess is that it will be available some time this summer, but since i haven't ever been through this loop, i can't say for certain when it actually will hit the market.

some specs:

2 x 700W into 4 Ohms, .05% THD

1500W bridged into 8 Ohms .1% THD

19", 2U, 32.6 lbs.

not the lightest of weight. but it should sound very good for bass. i have the first prototype at home for hi-fi and bass rig testing tonight and tomorrow morning. i'll post some thoughts tomorrow afternoon, when i get home from work.

finally, after five years of being a professional engineer, i will be releasing a product to market. (since crown laid me off before the CTs and iTECH amps made it to market, i can only claim so much credit on those.) thanks for the support!

robb.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Glad to hear it, I'm sure you feel much better after finally having a physical, concrete object to represent the years of hard work that you've put into your career. Congratulations!
Hiram Bullock thinks I like the band volume too soft (but he plays guitar). Joe Sample thinks I like it way too loud (but he plays piano). -Marcus Miller

Way to go robb! I agree with Matt W, it looks great! I'd love to hear it!

Congrats my man! :thu::thu:

Nothing is as it seems but everything is exactly what it is - B. Banzai

Life is what happens while you are busy playing in bands.

Originally posted by Dr. Sweet Willie:

What does it do into 8 ohms per side stereo? 400W?

was that a rhetorical question? you are correct -- it'll do 2 x 450W into 8 Ohms or 1 x 475W into 8 Ohms. if i recall correctly -- i'll have to double check that. (i have three specs to juggle in my mind -- stereo, mono, and 20Hz to 20kHz.)