Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

a sad, sad day.

The Fonz

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

PanicYou,

But as a young musician i am forced to go with the cheaper product. Whether its behringer or some other company. Is it wrong? sure it is but people have been stealing business ideas since the beggining of time i really dont think it can be changed?
Maybe they all have the same attitude as you.

the building is owned by someone else and he ain't sellin'. besides, they're not closing because of their "$1,000,000 a month" rent (it's actually more in the lines of $40,000 a month). cb's could handle their rent if they chose too. they could more than likely work out something for their back rent if the landlord still wanted them there (which he doesn't). the real sticking point is that the place is a death trap. the list of fire and safety violations against that place is longer than i am, and the renovations would be cost prohibitive.

cb's will reopen somewhere else. the loss here is in the fact that place itself, the place where so many bands got their start, where mick jagger used to hang to hear new music, is closing. i'm just hoping they don't sell out and take the metric ass-load of money they were offered to open in vegas.

Eeeeeehhhhhhhhh.

how do you convert a metric ass load to an american ass load?

"I'm thinkin' we should let bump answer this one...

Prepare to don Nomex!"

-social critic

"When I install my cannons, I'm totally going to blast their asses back to the 16th century; Black Beard style"

-bumpcity

They can't actually move CBGB's. All they would be moving is the brand name. The original venue has tremendous importance in rock and roll history. Punk was born there and numerous legendary bands got their start there.

I'm not saying the won't attempt to move it, but it would be a completely meaningless gesture, IMHO.

Originally posted by Shaggy8900: