Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Another question about mikes and recording...

Hanshananigan

Hi All,

I've been recording my Peavy Dyna-Bass (active) into Powertracks this way:

RNC compressor --> mixer --> Audiophile (USB)

Well, I'm not happy with the sound- not enough cahoonas.

However, I like my cabinet sound- warm, punchy, "even" (kinda that natural compression).

I'm thinking about mic'ing my cabinet (1x15) straight or running two signals, one DI and the other mic'ed.

We have several mike choices laying around, but most are mid-quality multipurpose mics like 57s and 58s. We do, however, have a Shure Beta 52 our drummer used to record kick.

My question is whether the Beta 52 would be ok (other posts seem to think so), and whether you would suggest any particular eq'ing to separate the bass and kick, considering we're using the same mic? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i'm just an amateur at this stuff:

the 'oomph' of the kick comes from 200Hz and below. the audible 'kick' (so you can still here the bass drum when listening on small radio/car/pc speakers instead of the studio monitors) might be somewhere around 600Hz (this depends, how big is the bass drum, is it open or closed, does he let the bass drum ring or does he keep the pedal against it al the time...). try out some frequencies for your particular sounds.

remember that to take away frequencies (on the mixing board, or in the mix) is easier than to try to add frequencies that aren't there to begin with...

for the bass: try bumping 250Hz. afterwards compress it a bit in the mix and see where this gets you...

bassdrum: bump 200hz and below, bump 600Hz (or 700Hz or..., experiment)

bass: bump 250 to 300 Hz

for mikes, compression, recording Jay Gradon wrote quite some texts... (scroll down for links, it's for guitar but is really quite general also)