Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Suggestions?

Catlin

Hey all, I am looking to buy some new gear, looking to better my sound.

What are in your opinions some "good" head/cab for a decent price.

*Keep in mind I am a student, and make very little income.*

-Thanks -Catlin :thu:

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Catman!

There have several threads here discussing gear of all shapes and sizes.

You need to decide what your desired tone is and how you apply this tone (practice room, small jam, small stage, etc).

I'll let the true gear-heads point you towards the proper thread (or potential gear) for you.

Good luck! :thu:

Steve Force,

Durham, North Carolina

--------

My Professional Websites

Catman:

The concept of "good sounding" is VERY subjective. I'd suggest going to your local music stores, take your bass, and play through everything they have, cheap or expensive. Identify the rigs that you like and the ones that you don't like. What matters is what sounds good to you!

Once you know the rigs that you think sound good, then you can start to look for them used...that's usually my approach. Once you know what you like, check your local stores, stores that are within driving distance, Ebay, etc. It'll take some patience, but you'll find what you like at a good price. While you wait for it to show up, you can save the money to buy it with... :thu:

[\begin shameless plug] I have two Carvin RL-410T cabs for sale right now. They sound great and are a great used price. Send me a PM if you're interested. [\end shameless plug]

HTH,

Dave

Old bass players never die, they just buy lighter rigs.

- Tom Capasso, 11/9/2006

Hello there, fellow Atlantic-Canadian!

I'm making a big assumption here, but assuming you're looking for the most 'bang for the buck', as in good tone with lots of power, headroom, and the ability to move some big air...