Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Old player needs young ideas

Mailman

I've been playing for about 30 yrs. I've always just plugged in and went for it. But, here lately

this cover band I joined plays everything from Rush to Yes to Skynyrd. I'm trying to get the orginal sound that each bassist uses. What effects do I need? Boss effects processor?

Old embarest fart

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, Mailman, welcome to the Lowdown.

A bit more of your story would help us get a better picture of where you are and where you're looking to go with your sound. Chances are you don't need tons of new equipment to get the sound you want.

What style(s) of music have you been playing for the last 30 years? What's your current gear setup consist of?

...simply stating.

Trying to faithfully replicate multiple bands in a cover band can be a real handfull. Even a multieffects like the Boss have drawback as the look fragile (my opinon only), you can only save a limited number of settings without having to reprogram the damned thing between sets, then you don't get any beer, no time to chat up the ladies, the guitarist and the drummer get the good looking ones, the only one left has an overbite and smells of cheese and then life REALLY starts to suck.

Unless you are playing some kind of big market thing, for the small club gigs, just a good overdrive (Boss OBD-3), a good equalizer (rack, amp or pedal), and an axe that has dual pickups and a mid sweep on the front (Special P's, for instance). It would be nice to be able to stomp once for Geddy, twice for Flea, thrice for Sting and four times for Geezer, or pour beer and meth on it for Lemmy, but for small venue why bother? Better to just play well.

Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah'nagl fhtagn