Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Frets

chris in seattle

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can not make that stretch, and I've given up trying.

I need to be at about the 7th fret to use one finger per fret.

Small hands.

You know what they say about small hands don't you?

Small gloves.

:D

That was for you Getz!

"Start listening to music!".

-Jeremy C

Seems like there are too many rules - or too many people who think everything should have a rule. We are fortunate that their are also people who find their own ways. Those include most of the great musicians, I think. It also includes many others who may not always be thought of as "great" but show an indomitable spirit - and truly are great:

How do you play with no fingers?

I'm still a beginner, so don't pay too much attention to me - but I would say that if you can, it would be wise to work on being able to make that stretch.

It's very difficult at first, and it took me a while to get it, but I'm getting more and more comfortable playing in the first position now with one finger per fret. It reduces the amount of shifting you have to do, and things can sound cleaner as a result.

Find some good stretching/strengthening exercises and practice them often. It makes a huge difference and you'll see results quite quickly. I have a few routines that I practice each session that I play my bass, and I feel that it helps tremendously.

If you have very small hands, and just can't manage it - so be it. I'm sure there are many great bass players that don't do that stretch. But if you're able I'd say it would certainly be advantageous.

Eberbachl,