Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Cans of worms unleashed- Jazz

ondray

Hi,

I am relatively new to the world of jazz.

I find that transcribing horn solos, fills and walking basslines from the swing era (Benny Goodman, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Jimmy and Tommy Dorsie) helps explain the core and how jazz (theory)has progressed through time. These cds are cheap as well compared to modern pop and rock albums.

Contemporary jazz is just too hard to explain. (It does sound like the instrument is suffering from diarrhoea for some)

Would love to know how you "jazzers" start and progress from scratch. Tips will be greatly appreaciated.

I have found these books to be really useful in explaining why jazz solos can sound so out of the world and yet make you feel like it's appropriate at the same time.

The Jazz Theory Book by Mark Levine

Thinking in Jazz : The Infinite Art of Improvisation (Chicago Studies in Ethnomusicology Series) by Paul F. Berliner

Andre

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Agreed. Jazz is listening, especially with young people. You can't learn to play in a style unless you listen to it. Listening to "Clear Channel Radio" pop crap won't help you play jazz.

This is the biggest thing the jazz band guys in my schools battle. Kids (in general) don't sit around and listen to the Basie Band. I've been to a zillion clinic and at almost every one the clinician will tell you that the model rhythm section is the Basie Band. They are also my favorite.

Anyway...listen, then listen more.