Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

ASCAP , BMI , HARRY FOX ? Or?

Any one with any experience with any of these companies? Any personal real life experience would be very helpful. I really need to sign up with an Agency like this soon. I was a member of ASCAP years ago but really don't remember anything. [url=http://www.rodneygene.com][b]Official Rodney Gene Website[/b][/url] Cheers.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'm an ASCAP Writer member and have had good luck. I've had two music licensing deals for the past ten years with companies that spot my music into [mostly] television shows, and -- though it's impossible to be 100% sure -- it looks like I've been getting the proper royalites. As a matter of fact, one of the companies is Japanese and ASCAP handles the payments for me through JASRAC (Japan's big performing rights society). I've also found ASCAP's ancillary services and customer service to be great. Amazing what you get for a $10/yr. membership fee. Had *one* big problem where they cut a large royalty check by mistake and didn't tell me there was an error for three months (someone misplaced a decimal point). The repayment was deducted from future statements. All that said, this is a commercial composer's view. Don't know how songwriters and artists -- folks who need to make a lot of dough through radio surveys and such -- feel. Hope this helps. Marv