Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Projector on stage

I've been reading up on techniques to make your stage show more interesting... bearing in mind that I'm a guitarist rooted to a microphone it makes pulling off those David Lee Roth high kicks a bit difficult... so..... I had thought of getting a projector and displaying something interesting behind me (more in the nude nympho women category as opposed to the 'My first poo' category...) :cool: Anyone done this before? Also since I'm a bit of a Midi geek I'd love to be able to hook the thing in with my sequencer to time the changes.... Does such a piece of technology exist? And if not - why not? :) Huge.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply
There was a "Flower Power" revival band back in Albuquerque, whose name I can't remember, that did a lot with projectors. They actually used [i]overhead[/i] projectors, and the light man would fool around with moire patterns, colored oil between two clear sheets of plastic, soap bubbles, etc. Very lo-tech but really gave some authenticy to the show. We like to do a little bit of stuff like that in our band. During "Devil went down to Georgia" I'll have a strobe light set up in front of me, and turn it on with a footswitch during the "Devil's" fiddle solo, and slowly break out a wide grin with vampire fangs during the solo; freaks people out who haven't seen it before! Finally, check out Talking Head's "Stop Making Sense" for some interesting ideas with projectors (also Blue Man Group, if you get a chance to see them live!)

Botch

"Eccentric language often is symptomatic of peculiar thinking" - George Will

www.puddlestone.net