Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

svt

pouffe

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hey, I'm just a wandering guitarist who thinks SVT's are cool, but I can't tell you a whole lot about'em; I can tell you that I did a search on this forum for "Ampeg SVT" and got 195 results. Just a friendly tip, 'till a bona fide SVT lovin' bassist replies here! -k

Ask yourself- What Would Ren and Stimpy Do?

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~

_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

Umm...Bonafide ehh? Well I do own a SVT3, but as I've no experience with the other models, I can only give my biased, un-informed view.

Get the SVT3. It's a great easy to use amp. I'm not a gearhead by any means, but I've never played a sweeter amp. It's lightweight, built like a tank, and delivers enough power to get you through mosts gigs. (p.s read between the lines here: I've not played any really massive shows yet ;) )

Cup :freak:

Originally posted by pouffe:

I want to get an Ampeg svt head. I've played through 4 of them and really liked 3 of them. Can anyone clue me in as to the differences between the models vintage or new?

As a former "classic" SVT owner, I'll give you some views.

The tube version is great (SVT Anniversary nowadays). 300 watts of TUBE power. All tube, all the time. If you want that classic, rock bass tone, pair this with a sealed cabinet and rock out. You're going to get one of two tones out of this beast: (1) crunch rock goodness or (2) super deep dub, motown tone.

That said, the head was heavy and not as versitile as I would have liked. I switched to tube preamp/solid-state power amps and ported cabinets.

I think the rest of the "SVT" line stacks up well with Carvin, SWR, Eden, etc. However, I think you'd be better off, for the price, with a Carvin. And if you want a nicer package, go with the Eden.