Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

You guys ever get fed up?

such_a_noob

I just started learning a few months ago, and I already got fed up. I couldn't seem to get anything right, and the guy at the music store who said he gives lessons hasn't been around lately. (He had a kid, so I can forgive that....) But trying to teach myself sucks. Any ideas? I just got back into it, woke up this mornign and all I wanted to do was pluck until my fingers bled.

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I can see where you're coming from.

I used to think the same way about another certain instrument I play(oboe, don't laugh). I never thought that way about bass.

I'm purely self-taught so far, just by watching all the greats playing, and train my ear. Do you use any books or anything to try and learn stuff on your own? I just goof around until I get something that sounds decent.

I like teaching myself, it's a real challenge,but I love it.

Well,now that I think about it......

About a year ago,which was about 5 months after I starting playing, I was jamming to White Room by Cream. It's got all these insane riffs during the fading solo. I was really upset,because my fingers wouldn't play fast. I had pretty much always done it perfect, but this time I couldn't. Same thing for Ramble On. Fingers got stuck and I couldn't play very fast at all. It drove me crazy,but practice makes perfect.

Just keep at it, and you'll never regret it

Everyone's gotta start somewhere.

I still get frustrated with my playing, and I've been at it for 8 years.

If you're truly driven, you'll never be satisfied. Every time you climb a step, there's another one in front of you.

Nope, never get fed up.

Every since I was a young child I have wanted to practice my instrument.

Not being able to play something just makes me want to practice more.

Seeing somebody great play just makes me want to play more.