Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slap grooves

funkpunker

hey, im new to this so go easy on me! i have learnt how to play slap, sort of, i can play some basic stuff, chilis, etc. but i have no idea about how to make up grooves or anything, i can only basically work around octaves, 5ths and 7ths, and at a very sloooow pace. is there anything that could help me speed things up?! and does anyone one know of a decent bass for slapping thats around £500 ($700ish (at a guess)) (im in England) i have a 5string ibanez sr705, but its not great for slapping as the fret board is ver narrow so i keep scrapping my finger up. im not really looking for a 5string this time though, just something i can really learn to slap on. sorry about the length, i have loads of other things to ask, but i thought id save your time!! by the way im only 17 and have been playinig bass for 2ish years, slapping about 2months!

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I realize this topic from a couple days ago doesn't completely answer your question but this'll get you started: slapping for begginers

When you have some time use the local Search found up near the top of the page; there is just scads of slap methods and gear advice and good cuts to listen to / learn here.

Probably for most people who want to slap lots a standard-spacing will work best. For 5- and 6-string basses that means a big wide neck, so you might be happier with a good 4-string with either two pickups and a center blend for your basic slap tone, or a MusicMan style setup with a pickup closer to the bridge than what is found on Fender P-basses.

i think 500 pounds is closer to $1000 U.S. and that will get you a pretty darn decent bass. althogh all the ones i can think of are made here, which may alter that a little. try a fender. the mexican ones are great and cheap and the string spacing is a lot wider than an ibanez.
Eeeeeehhhhhhhhh.