Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What's your wireless system and why

Oiseau

Is anyone using the Cavin wireless system? If so how would you rate it. My Nady just gave out and it's time to look for a new one.

Which type of wireless system do you use and why?

Yes, I do know everything.... I just can't remember it all at one time.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been using Audio Technica's 1400 series UHF system for a couple of years now. We do have a deal with Audio Technica, but I was using the 1400 before we got the deal, so it wasn't my reason for going that route.

I decided on them because they were reasonably priced ($250-$300) and had the features I thought were important in an instrument wireless. They have 1/4" and XLR outputs, detachable antennae, are 1/2 space rackmountable with hardware included, and also have a detachable input cord which is replaceable for under $20. That feature saved me a headache on one occasion. It's a lot easier to plug a new input cord in than find a short and repair it right before soundcheck.

I've been very happy with the thing. It has a good range, clear/clean sound and I've never had RF problems even on the noisiest stages.

That said, there are a ton of wireless units out there, some good, some not so good, ranging from cheapie VHF single channel units to high end digital UHF diversity with programmable channels. I would go with a UHF unit if I were you.

Later..................

I've got a Nady 200. I wouldn't recommend it all.

From what I've heard and seen my friends use, the one to get would be the x-wire, which of course they don't make anymore. Sennheiser now owns the technology, I don't know what they call their model.

I think that Audio-Technica makes a "bass-specific" wireless but I can't find the brochure that I got from them.