Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Songwriting Credit......

Wandering if someone can help? I am in a band (4 piece) and we have recently replaced out guitarist and drummer. We are now receiving a lot of interest and things are starting to look promising.

The question about songwriting credits has arisen, and what sort of percentage split we should have between the band members. I am a guitarist/singer/songwriter and have written the entire set that we play, including lyrics and chord structure. Generally I will write a song, melody, chords and structure of the song and then take it to the studio. The other members will then put their bits in. Bass line, drums etc. Sometimes the arrangement may change slightly but most of the time it remains the same only filled out with the other instruments, guitar solos etc.

My question is: What is the fairest way to go about a 4 way spilt? Naturally I want to keep everyone happy so was wondering if there is a norm or generally rule of thumb when it comes to this.

• 2 weeks later...

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know what the rule of thumb would be. I've done some songwriting, and collaborated with bandmembers. We pretty much agreed that anything we co-wrote would be divided equally. But we were doing it for our church and not for money, which changes things quite a bit!

It's good you are discussing these things now, before the fame and fortune.... There have been famous groups like the Band and the Mahavishnu Orchestra where songwriting credit amounted to some serious bucks and there was major discord about the matter!

It IS a legitimate question as to what constitutes collaboration. There's no doubt, if two guys both contribute to the lyrics and music equally from the get go, the pie should be equally divided. Your situation is more borderline, but definitely NOW is the time to discuss it! And these decisions no one can make for you!