Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Finally finished a song!

Well, when I say finished I mean I've got the melody, lyrics and changes sorted and recorded and it's very exciting.

Just to introduce myself I've been a bassist for 6 years now and I learnt to play whilst in a band at Uni. Anyway, although I contributed a bit to the writing in that band and always created my own parts and helped arrange the songs, I've never done anything which was my own vision.

I started a band about a year ago in the hope of getting some originals written and performed but without the confidence in my writing etc it just degenerated into a covers band and I quit.

So now it's just me, a Zoom drum machine, a Tascam 4-track, an SM58 and my Warwick bass and loads of effects pedals. A few years back I worked on some stuff on my computer but I'm really enjoying the simplicity of a cassette 4-track, it makes me concentrate much more on the songs.

The process with this song (and likely to be with the rest is):

I came up with a cool riff on the bass. I then developed that into a bassline that went through various changes and basically wrote the entire bassline to a song tht didn't exist. I then programmed some basic beats and recorded the bassline to them - just plugging the bass straight in. This was followed by me listening back to them a few times and then humming a melody over this and recording that.

I then mixed it onto minidisc, and within 2 days had written all the lyrics (didn't expect it to happen so fast but having a melody to work off really inspired me). Then last night I recorded the lead vocal so now I have drums, bass and lead vocal recorded.