Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is it unusual for you to recompose a song?

LiveMusic

I realize I'm pretty new to songwriting (little over a year) and so, maybe the natural growth in expertise (and I have a long wat to go) takes care of this... or maybe it doesn't. That's the question. Does it? Do you forever find yourself TOTALLY recomposing some songs?

There is a song I wrote about my dad, who was a farmer. And the song has a sad flavor to it. The perils of dryland (non-irrigated) farming. And I have been playing this song for MONTHS, satisfied with my composition. Almost satisfied, but not quite. It kept bugging me that it didn't quite generate what I wanted. I wrote it on guitar, converted and augmented it on piano. That's how I've been playing it, on my keyboard. With bass line and drum track and accompaniment. I'd sometimes play my guitar along with it. But it still wasn't quite right.

And now, I am FIRED UP. I got it. I am HAPPY with this!

I could "hear" an acoustic guitar-based song. A rhythmic, strumming guitar being the driving force behind it. Kind of a sad folk song. A Dylanish or Mellencampish sound to it. I changed from key of Am to Em and in no time, I had it. Now, I have the sound I want.

And among the 30 or so finished songs I have, there are several I have done this to. Including my first. I also played that song a certain way for MONTHS. Then, I _totally_ rewrote that one. No similarity to the first version.

Just wondering if you think this is unusual. I read about some writers, who say that once a song is written, they don't go back. It's done forever. Others claim some, they sweat out for years.

> > > [ Live! ] < < <

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think I am one of those people that, even after a song is released I`ll be going, `damn, I wish I had taken out that extra harmony on the third chorus...`