Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Nailing Timing Problems

Any tips on sequencing and how to get the problem of timing nailed?! It seems to me sometimes as if the whole tune, drums, guitar, bass etc, are in time together, but then a few days later listening to it some parts drag. Any theories? (besides better playing!! which of course would help, but i am a professional musician, its not that i dont have a clue what i'm doing - i mean, it must have something to do with techniques in the studio) Maybe this is not the place for these questions, i just wanted to say that i think you are doing a wonderful job. Any tips would of course be appreciated. Thanks. >>

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
What software are you using? Digital Performer comes with a file to line everything up. Basically its audio snare hit that plays over & over again. You match up your midi'd snare hit to it by delaying your audio playback. Once this is accomplished, you then record your midi'd snare hit to audio & see if it lines up with everything. If it doesn't you adjust it according. A bit if trial & error, but it does get alined eventually. I've also experienced a timing problem that once I rebooted, it went away.

Steve

www.seagullphotodesign.com