Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Who's scoring for film/TV here? I need advice

Hi I'm thinking of getting this (see below). It will be my first set of sound equipment, so I'm not exactly sure what additional kit I need. A controller keyboard, I know, but what else? A sequencer, mixer, DAT machine? I'm a classical composer, but have been using PCs for years, so not a complete technical novice - just needing a bit of advice as to what basic set up I need as an aspiring film/TV composer. Your help is much appreciated. Cheers, Dan. [b]Carillon UltraSampler 160 package[/b] P IV 1.7Ghz - Windows 98SE 512Mb 400Mhz RDRAM 20GB System 7200rpm - 40GB Samples 7200rpm (Seagate Softsonic ATA/100) Black 16x 10x40 Speed CDRW & 5blank CDs 17'' Black CRT (as std) 32Mb ATI Range Pro Card GigaStudio 160 - Sound Forge XP M-Audio - Delta 1010 Total = £2699

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Dan, the first two things that jump out are A) You need some kind of monitoring solution, most likley mixer and monitors. B) You need a sequencer/Multitrack audio application. Is it your intention to rely exlusively on Gigastudio as your sound source? If not, any "real instruments involved or external synths? And of course you need gobs and gobs of Giga libraries. John
Check out the Sweet Clementines CD at bandcamp

It is too wide open to imagine what you might need next - well, OK, I do agree that you might need to at least hear what you are doing, so monitors of some sort would be a plus. There are dozens of ways to go at this - you should probably pick some foundation tools (seems like you have) - then use them and fill in the gaps from there.

Steve Powell - Bull Moon Digital

www.bullmoondigital.com