Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

? Changing Pitch But Not Tempo

(Topic should have read (?Changing Tempo But Not Pitch)Sorry.

One of the features of my Cool Edit 2000 program allows me to change the tempo of a recording without changing the pitch. However when I tried this once or twice I was not satisfied with the sound quality of the conversion. I am thinking there must be more professional programs that can accomplish this without sacrificing the original sound quality. Anyone ever done this type of editing before?

Anyway specifically this is what I am trying to accomplish.

I have a 2" master with a simple backgound vocal part on a few tracks. The tracks are of a group of kids echoing the lead vocal in a call and response type exchange. For example the lead vocal part will be-

"say I wish".....and the kids reply .."I wish"

What I want to possibly do is use the original kid's background part with a new and slower re-recording on a new master. Since the new track will be slower I want to be able to match the rhythm of the kid's response with the new and slower lead vocal without lowering the pitch of the kid's voices.

I figure that I will need to somehow sample the kids part from the original 2" and then punch them in at the desired places on the new master after having slowed the tempo slightly.

I don't have much experiece working with samplers or tempo changes but from what I have been reading this type of thing can be done without compromising the sound quality.

Am I correct or will this end up being so technically complex and time consuming that I would be better off just re-recording the kids from scratch?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

yes, i do that often, the software i use for that is

a) Logic: Time and Pitch Machine

b) Ableton Live4

c) Melodyne

d) Cubase SX, Audio Warp: Realtime Time Stretching and Pitch Shifting