Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My first attempt at furniture design

Actually, it's been finished for 9 months now, but I just got around to taking some pictures of it...

http://www.twilightmobile.com/images/daves-table.jpg

This is a "changing table" / dresser that I designed and my brother built for me. Its made of curly cherry hardwood and veneers.

Seriously, what the f*ck with the candles? Where does this candle impulse come from, and in what other profession does it get expressed?

-steve albini

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Nice work Mike! Are the drawer fronts curved too? It's not too easy to see in the photo. It looks like just the work surface is curved to me.

How did you make the drawers? Did you use dovetails or butt joints? (dovetails I hope!)

I am an avid woodworker too. I'm in the middle of making a nice chess board table that I designed for one of my sons. I'll post a piccy of it later. I have some of my earlier work on the web here . Any more pictures of your work?

:DTR

Mike, I think it's beautiful! And your brother does fine work. How much would you sell that puppy for? In the $400-500 range? I'd think you could make some good money. I like the rounded front edge of the table. Are those ridges in the top parts intended to insert changing pads?

That's fantastic! :thu:

Do any of your clients know you could be providing furniture for dressing rooms of your own design and your bro's build?

We outfitted Tim McGraw's personal and band dressing rooms and an understage green room with furniture and accent pieces last year. The producer updated it for Tim this year.

One of the pieces they wanted was a replica of a bar at the studio they recorded Tim's last album in. It was a faux piece, however. No working drawers. Just a place to put their drinks in the green room. But it had to be custom made.

You might be able to make some extra bucks and throw the manufacturing dollars to your brother.