Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How much concern do you give to an iPhone speaker? (mixing/mastering)

Hey all,

First off, let me say that I’m not a professional and I don’t earn any money from my music. It’s simply a hobby but one that I want to do as best I can. But keeping that context in mind can be helpful for keeping perfectionism in check.

So I’ve been working on a dynamic instrumental track for a while (mostly synth/sampler-based) and there’s just one part that is still problematic. It’s six bars in the track that have a relatively high melody part played with a heavily-EQ’d EP sound in the octave of C5 to C6. C6 is roughly 1K at the fundamental and C5 is about 500 Hz.

Most playback systems sound pretty good (again, keeping in mind I’m an amateur), but when I play it back on an iPhone speaker those notes resonate and create a fuzz. When I listen to professional reference tracks at the same volume that doesn’t happen. I’ve already dipped the heck out of the problematic frequencies (including dynamic EQ) and I’ve cut the part so heavily that I had to employ noise elimination in Wavelab to raise the level without hiss. But it still creates a fuzz with that specific playback method. It sounds fine in the car, on my monitors, on my iPad speakers, with a good set of headphones, with ear buds, etc.

I’m going to try replaying the part an octave lower and I’ll use some ducking and panning to try and avoid a conflict with the lower register, but my question remains: How much care/concern do you give to a lousy playback medium? Music doesn’t generally sound good from iPhone 13 speakers.

I’ve listened to and tweaked this track so much, I’m ready to move on to other material. But I don’t want to let something go that I can possibly fix.

Thanks in advance.

Todd

Sundown

Working on: The Jupiter Bluff; Driven Away

Main axes: Kawai MP11 and Kurz PC361

DAW Platform: Cubase