Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Grammar question

Writing a song and I would rather use this...

He has no attitude

But I was wondering if that is even "proper." Or...

He doesn't have an attitude

...is the proper way. Of course, I can't use example #2 because of meter but I'm curious if #1 is bad grammar.

> > > [ Live! ] < < <

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not an expert in english grammar as I'm italian, I don't write lyrics, but If you just read the lyrics of all times and the poems as well, you'll notice that the language is often stretched and changed for musical and expressional purposes. The important thing is that what you want to say is clear and direct, and, as always, the first thing that came out from your creativity seems the better of the two.

You're making art, not a grammar treaty.

BTW it seems correct english to me (for what I know).

Guess the Amp

.... now it's finished...

Here it is!

Originally posted by alfonso:

I'm not an expert in english grammar as I'm italian, I don't write lyrics, but If you just read the lyrics of all times and the poems as well, you'll notice that the language is often stretched and changed for musical and expressional purposes. The important thing is that what you want to say is clear and direct, and, as always, the first thing that came out from your creativity seems the better of the two.

You're making art, not a grammar treaty.

BTW it seems correct english to me (for what I know).

Yes, believe me, I butcher grammar plenty. Poetic license. I was just wondering because, so far, in this particular song, it's pretty clean, grammatically. I thought, heck, you _can't_ HAVE "no" attitude but you _can_ NOT have an attitude.

:confused:

> > > [ Live! ] < < <

Both are "correct", so go with what fits.

And beleive me, if Jimi Hendrix can get away with claiming that manic depression is a "fustrating", instead of "frustrating" mess, your problem is small.