Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is a company responsible for 100% of their content?

I’ve attached two photos here. This has angered me beyond all reason because this is a phenomenon I’m intimately familiar with, and Fender took the low road. To make the “positive” choice of having Fender NOT sell my data, you have to turn the switch RED. And it defaults to selling your personal data. 

This is not a matter of style. I’ve been a UX designer for 23 years working with only Fortune 100s, high value brands, and government agencies. Not a single time has anyone suggested or proposed using red for the positive choice. This is clearly an attempt at deception. And defaulting to acceptance is a giant UX faux pas…the equivalent of farting in an elevator.

So you can see in these images that they outsourced this page. Do you think the marketing manager should be held accountable for this choice? What about Fender? Or do you not care either way if they collect and sell. I’m genuinely curious. I’ve seen privacy discussions here before. What say you in 2023?

542A0EAD-CEB7-458B-9474-A6669D3D5670.png

637B6DE4-7728-4F6F-9565-C771D65D995D.png

"For instance" is not proof.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I agree that it's confusing. And defaulting to selling data is, shall we say, inconsiderate. Also, in the bottom image, the X sure seems to imply not selling information. However, I can see red as the "don't sell my data" color option because of the traffic stoplight reference.

Perhaps you could enlighten me about something. When they sell information for personalized advertising, is that like an AdSense thing? So if I say "don't sell my data," I  get ads anyway but they're for gardening supplies, cat food, and bad TV shows? Whereas if I consent to selling data, then I get ads for guitar, strings, concerts, etc.? I always wondered about that.