Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Cleaning TFT/LCD screens

What do you use?

I have pets in the house so little bits of dust & dirt inevitably find their way on to my laptop's TFT screen. I've been using "Storex" alcohol free cleaning tissues that I got from Curry's, which is like Best Buy or Circuit City. They seem to work OK, but not immediately. They promise streak free cleaning and rapid self drying - not true. The streaks eventually disappear but only after you've worried for a while.

Any decent alternatives or are these things OK?

John Scotsman

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Always use isopropyl alcohol on a cotton rag (a torn up t-shirt works great). It evaporates completely. Don't over-saturate the rag, a tablespoon should do. Don't use solvents as this can permanently damage the coating on the screen.

I'm an IT manager and maintain 50-60 some odd thinkpads for my company. Anyone who uses windex or 409 to clean their LCD screens gets a royal chewing out and has to live with a f**ked up screen until their gear is replaced.

No signature required.

My ophthalmologist gave me some eyeglass cleaner for plastic or glass lenses. It comes in a small 6 oz spray bottle. It contains no alchohol or ammonia. It's not just water. The only mfg name on it is Creative Classics in Fort Worth, Texas. I've got Sony cameras and a couple of notebooks with the TFT screens and this is the best stuff I've found. Gets it clean, won't scratch.

GY

Originally posted by Mats Olsson.:

Jon, do you dilute the isopropyl alcohol with water first?

I buy isopropyl rubbing alcohol(70%) from the pharmacy or grocery store and do not dilute it.

I personally have a TP A21 that's 3 years old and a TP X31 that's almost a year old and I clean their screens every week with it and they look like new.

BTW, also use this for cleaning mice. Alcohol doesn't leave a residue ...

No signature required.