Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Any tips on shipping a guitar amp?

RABid

I'm a drummer turned keyboardist that played guitar in my first garage band. In my first really good band I played keyboards and the guitarist had a Mesa Boogie. 35 year later I bought a nice Mark V 12" combo with pedal board and cover. When I got it, it took about 10 minutes to realize my mistake. This thing was too big and deep for me. I'm an amateur on guitar and I need an amateur's amp. So for the last 4 or 5 years it has sit in the corner of my living room with maybe an hour of play time. I have not sold it because there is no market in my small town for something like that and shipping something that heavy...

Well, it is time to let it go. The money can go towards that expensive MacBook Pro that I would get more use out of. Does anyone have tips on shipping a heavy, expensive guitar amp? I have no desire to take it to the UPS store and pay them $500 to ship it. I don't even know where to find a good, heavy box. The boxes I get from Amazon seem pretty thin.

• Like 2

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page

If there are any local appliance stores, see if they will give you a box. Some "box stores" may allow you to have cardboard and others have already used a crusher to make cubes wrapped with steel bands, no use and no can have!

Often they break them down and recycle them, they might let you take something from there. 

Washers, dryers and such come in boxes and the cardboard is much thicker - sometimes double or triple ply. If they have any "corners", get all of them that you can. You'll need 8, one for each corner but choose the best ones out of what you grab and toss the rest after you're done. 

Get too much cardboard, you want to double box that amp.