Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Impeding NUBD (new used bass day)!

Hi all,

I'm going to be driving a few hours out (I live in the middle of nowhere so everything's a long drive) on Thursday to try out a used Ibanez BTB-675 5-string bass from Music Go Round. Asking price is $599. Seems like this went for around $900 originally. I've purchased other gear from this store before and know the workers well so I know I'll be treated well. They've offered to do a setup on the bass if there's anything I want changed prior to sale as well which I think would be a bonus.

That said, I'm new to bass; I play a number of other instruments (piano/keys, organ, accordion, some percussion, Native American Flute) and took some guitar lessons this year, after trying to self-teach a little bit and getting very little done. Bass has always been of interest to me, and at this time it seems like something that I might enjoy more than guitar. I had a hand injury and a wrist injury some time ago that have made some aspects of guitar playing harder than they should be, at least on the smaller string-spaced and thin C-neck Yamaha Pacifica I have. I'll probably get a classical guitar down the road that I might enjoy playing more, as I've played one of those at my college for a few weeks and it was a much better fit. But it seems like bass might be a more enjoyable experience in this scenario. Plus I do like bass a lot. ;)