Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Music Theory: Arranging

Ok, So how many of us are arrangers? It's a big part of what I do for a living...arranging transcribing, orchestrating...close to 5000 charts now... How many are curious about the process of arranging? There are many aspects to arranging: vocal harmonies, piano music, horn section writing, writing for strings, woodwinds, etc... Taking an existing song and altering it's "vibe"... Taking an existing song and re-harmonizing the melody... Taking a song typically in "3" and arranging it to "4" A song in "4" to 7/8... There are many different styles of arranging for each group of instruments: section work for horns, or orchestral brass...supplemental string quartet, or string section...writing for supplemental cello for ballads, or a solo cello piece...orchestral percussion, or drum set... Knowing the ranges, keys and capabilities of each instrument... In transcribing popular styles, there are many aspects to the approach...I've streamlined the process over the years, so that my charts are clear, and have only that which is totally necessary, but filled with information, needed for the musician to interpret the piece effectively and still add their own personal touch to it... When to write every articulation and dynamic, when to leave it up to the musician... The difference between arranging for different styles: Jazz, pop, orchestral/classical, world music, country...what each chart should look like... Information to leave off of a chart, information absolutely necessary... Clear chord analysis; Nomenclature; The clearest interpretation of rhythms; Music software...Finale is what I use…there are many others... Many things to discuss... Peace, Scott [url=http://www.scottjonesmusic.com]www.scottjonesmusic.com[/url]

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply