Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help MIDI connecting my MM6 and Motif 6

r.westby5

Hello all! I'm a growing keyboard player in a working band and need some help if you have the time and knowledge.

I recently acquired a yamaha MM6 and currently have a Motif 6. I'd like to use the MM6 as a master board so I can sneak some of its sounds onto the motif for live performance. However, I'm a noob when it comes to MIDI stuff and am having a hell of time figuring out how to make this possible.

As far as I know, I believe I've gotten both boards ready to communicate, I just don't know what to do next to transmit the sound from the MM6 onto the Motif. I've tried watching videos and reading through other forums to try to figure this out myself and am not finding the information I need.

If you have connected these two boards together in this manner, can you please walk me through the process so I can make sure I'm doing this right and make this possible please? Thanks in advance!!

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You have mixed some terminology in your post which is understandable for a noob so lets try and get clarity on what you are trying to do.

1. Are you trying to play the sounds of the MM6 on the Motif 6? (E.g. The MM6 is acting as a sound generator being controlled by the Motif)

2. How have you connected the two keyboards together? If the answer to 1. Is yes, then you should have a midi cable from the Motif 6 out going into the MM6 in

Assuming the transmit channel of the Motif 6 is the same as the receive channel on the MM6 you should hear the MM6 sound when you play a key on the Motif 6

Nord Stage 2EX | Nord Wave | Mainstage 3

K&M Spider Pro | JH Audio JH5 IEMs | Behringer XR18 | Radial Keylargo

Hi and welcome to the forum.