Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Reflecting on past GAS (get it?)

zeronyne

I've been kicking around the MP forums for 13 years. In 2005, I ventured into the Lowdown for the first time to ask a question about getting custom paint job. Immediately my now close friend Sweet Willie appeared with advice and very welcome opinions. And I've been here ever since. I've met many a real life friend through this very forum, and that's something that happens rarely on FB or Twitter.

I was not in any way a bass player back then, unless you count the left hand on a keyboard. But I was seduced by the gear in a way that was different than guitar gear. It was the heyday of boutique basses. Fender's Custom Shop was reinventing itself, and we would see, almost daily, one Lowdowner or another showing their latest acquisition: Foderas, F Basses, Sadowskys, Warwicks, Wals, Lulls, Nordstrands, the otherworldly Ritters, the insane Basslabs, and dozens more (including the years-long lament from our friend in Seattle trying to get the dirty hippies at Alembic off their asses). And it was the Wild West in the affordable range as well. From staples like the Ibby Soundgear series, to Jack Casadys, all the varied Fenders and the very underrated "theme" Squiers, Michael Kellys, Trabens, OLPs, the 39" scale Knuckleheads, and literally hundreds more.

But all that is over. A lot of companies are out of business; many others have slimmed down their product lines and have gone back to J and P clones.

Electric bass has not been around long enough to determine all but the most obvious economic patterns, so I'll ask your opinions: do you think the heyday of boutique basses was a one shot deal, or do you think it's cyclical.

When I joined the forums, I had an infant, and now she is going to start high school next week. Time is a slippery slope. I want to thank you all for spending some of that precious commodity with me and, of course, this forum.