Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Playing covers, with multiple splits etc - tutorials?

Tobias Åslund

I recently joined a cover band, that mainly plays 80' and 90's hits. It was a couple of years ago I did this, and I find it more amusing than I was expecting, to prepare for this gig. I sometimes go a bit over the top with splits and layers - like in Billie Jean I have three splits on each of my two keyboards (Korg TR76 with a Nord Stage 2 sw73) and for another tune I sampled a few vocoder phrases into my Stage, but it's all in good fun. :) We will have our first gig tomorrow and I'm quite excited about that.

Anyway - I am a trained pianist, and have studied jazz for two years, so I have a good ear, and a good understanding of harmony and such , but when playing synths and also Hammond I'm basically self taught. I also really enjoy programming multi setups and tweaking sounds to get close to the original.

So - my question now is, do you guys have any tips where to find learn how other synth/keyboard players approach playing covers, picking parts, programming layers and splits and so on? Video tutorials and DVD:s would be preferable.

The only clip I can think of right now is a video by Jordan Rudess on how he programmed his K2500 back in the days and approached DT tunes live - and an 80's series I think was called "school of rock", but I'm hoping for a more recent productions with more contemporary music.

Any ideas?

Too much stuff, too little time, too few gigs, should spend more time practicing...!  🙄

main instruments: Nord Stage 3 compact, Yamaha CP88, Kurzweil PC4, Viscount KeyB Legend Live

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I run a lot of triple splits. Parts that require the highest dexterity I will put on the right side sometimes. I don't limit the location of my splits to note frequency locations.