Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Flats on 60's rosewood Jazz Bass: when/why, and what type?

Mark Schmieder

I went thoroughly through all my basses last night, without plugging in, to really get to know their differences as deeply as possibly ahead of some recording sessions and also to decide what role my rosewood J-Bass should serve (it's gorgeous and fun to play but hasn't been used live yet or even much in the studio).

My P-Bass was so transformed by going to flats that it's now my main live bass, even though only 4 strings, and gets used a lot for recordings as well. In fact, the tone knob is actually useful since going to flats, and it's so even that I'm no longer certain I eventually want to upgrade from a split pickup to the early 50's non-split pickup (which was more even tonally) -- that would mean switching basses (maybe a new Mike Lull passive bass now that he makes them in vintage style).

I have little experience with J-Basses anyway; lots of other dual pickup basses, of course. I measured, and found my other three dual pickup basses more or less have 70's J-bridge spacing vs. my Select Jazz with 60's bridge PUP spacing. I ruled out the AVRI 1974 J-Bass after trying it again on SAT in SF as its curvature is extreme and it is non-responsive unplugged. So, given that my Yamaha BB-Bass with P/J hybrid configuration is also rosewood with rounds -- though super-aggressive compared to the Select Jazz (similar to a '64 J-Bass) -- I'm wondering if maybe I should distinguish the J-Bass more by putting flats on it.