Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

verse chords on Dire Straits -- Walk of life

vonshavingcream

can someone help me out? I recently started playing the keyboard and I am trying to figure this song out. Every tutorial on this song only shows the famous riff part.

I am trying to sort out what chords are played during the verse and part before the chorus.

Any help or a point in the right direction would be great. Hopefully one that is in the same key as the album recording.

Thanks,

C

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are only three chords in the verse - E, A, and B - all major chords. It shouldn't be hard to tell which is which. :)

The chords during the instrumental hook are;

E B A C#mi B G#mi A B.

The opening organ chords are the same every time the riff is repeated. Have fun with it! :cool:

><>

Steve

"I recently started playing keyboard" ... it's probably his first chording instrument if he can't figure out I IV V.

Hammond: L111, M100, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, D152, C3, B3

Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 22H, 31H

Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85, DX9

Roland: VR-09, RD-800

can someone help me out? I recently started playing the keyboard and I am trying to figure this song out. Every tutorial on this song only shows the famous riff part. I am trying to sort out what chords are played during the verse and part before the chorus.

Here you go, C.

I've always wanted to do something like this as I wish more people would have done for me when I was starting out in rock... It's in the key of the recording. These are the voicings I would use. Feel free to experiment for yourself.

http://youtu.be/GzctnjKD6e0

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

Hey, empathy is a good thing. I remember when I was starting out ...