Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Anybody Have Reason Essentials? I'm Having Issues...

BiC

I'm a newbie to DAW. I got two of them I am experimenting with:

- Reason Essentials 2, which I paid $99 for.

- Studio One Artist, which came with my Nektar Impact LX 49 and Presonus Audiobox USB.

I am attempting to solve this with:

1. Reason (in Holland)

2. Presonus

3. Sweetwater

So far, no luck. Here's my issue:

I want to play my guitar through the Line 6 amp simulator within Reason, but what is supposed to be a distorted sound is a bypass sound with distortion layered just in the background of it.

What I tried so far...

1. Turning the mixer knob on the Audiobox all the way to "playback."

The steps I take in Reason to play guitar:

a. "Create Audio Track"

b. Audio Input settings:

Click "In" and have chosen "mono input" and "audiobox ASIO driver In 2"

c. Insert Line 6 Guitar Amp into that audio track

d. Choose a distorted preset

e. Click enable monitoring for the track

f. Reason > Edit > Preferences > Audio > Monitoring > click on "automatic."

If you have Reason, please explain to me step-by-step what you do to play your guitar through it? I am missing a step or click somewhere in the chain... OR my audio interface (Audiobox USB) is malfunctioning.

Thank you!

"Treat your wife with honor, respect, and understanding as you live together so that you can pray effectively as husband and wife." 1 Peter 3:7

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi BiC,

I don't own, nor have I ever used any form of Reason.

:rimshot:

Heh, sry couldn't resist.

I use Reaper, but all DAWs do pretty much the same thing, just in different ways.

What you're doing, essentially, is using the Line 6 plugin as an effect. It gets applied to the signal "after the fact", so to speak.

So I think what's happening is either:

Your FX (or whatever Reason calls it) level is set low, or the dry/wet balance needs tweaking,

or