Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

lessons have you ever taken any ???

mic

Hi all bass players out there. Just wonder, how many of you have taken lessons in playing bass guitar, or is it all something you have learned yourself???

Reason I am asking is, for the first time ever, after having played bass for little more then 10 years, tomorrow I am going to have my first lesson. Yes yes I know it might be a bit late, should really have been then I started playing the bass, but better late then never, sure hope to pick up a thing or two.

All the best

Michael

Dublin, Ireland

Fender Jazz 2011 mex.

Support people with Autisme :-)

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to the Forum, Michael.

I never picked up a bass until I was 45 and took weekly lessons for almost six years. Once I got into a band, I stopped taking lessons as all my practice time was mostly devoted to learning songs. Haven't taken a formal lesson in probably three or four years.

Obviously, one can be a great bass player without ever taking a lesson. In my view, taking lessons is a good idea and it certainly helped me tremendously--not only with sound fundamentals and technique, but my teacher was both patient and encouraging. A good teacher is a gift.

In your case, it will be interesting to see if there's a gap between what you've taught yourself and what your teacher says, in terms of technique, etc. Your teacher might ask you to "unlearn" things. But on the other hand, if it works for you, it works.

You can learn a lot on this Forum as well.

"Everyone wants to change the world, but no one thinks of changing themselves." Leo Tolstoy

Never too late. I never took electric bass lessons. I did study upright bass. At age 46 and after playing for 35+ years, I had a lesson with a pretty big name player a couple summers ago.